Board of Directors


Kim KeelineKim Keeline: President

Kim Keeline is a former academic turned writer, hard at work at finalizing her first novel, Deadman’s Switch, set in a fictional train museum in Southern California, which won a Conference Choice Award in 2016 at the SDSU Writers Conference.  Kim is a freelance Book PR and Graphic Design person for other authors, in addition to teaching Scrivener and giving lectures on a variety of writing, literature, and history topics. She is also a volunteer steam locomotive engineer at the Poway-Midland Railroad.

clf_final_400Corey Lynn Fayman: Vice President

“A powerful new voice on the crime-fiction scene” (ForeWord Reviews), Corey Lynn Fayman has done hard time as a musician, songwriter, and sound designer, but still refuses to apologize for it. Black’s Beach Shuffle, the first novel featuring the guitar-slinging detective Rolly Waters, was a San Diego Book Awards finalist. The second, Border Field Blues, won the genre award at the 2013 Hollywood Book Festival. His third Rolly Waters mystery, Desert City Diva, was a finalist for the Foreword Reviews 2016 INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award.


Sheri Brady: Treasurer


Martin Roy Hill: Secretary


Nicole Larson #2Nicole Larson: VP Membership

Nicole Sours Larson is an award-winning freelance journalist, community activist and Coast Guard-licensed captain who is rewriting her first mystery. A past president of the San Diego Press Club, she writes for the San Diego Union-Tribune, San Diego Home & Garden, Sea Magazine and pens the Dock Lines with Captain Nicole column for the boating newspaper The Log. Her eclectic background includes running Virginia plantations and a Frank Lloyd Wright house for the National Trust for Historic Preservation, working on numerous political and issues campaigns, lobbying on Capitol Hill, earning a grand diplôme from Cordon Bleu Paris and organizing wine tastings in London, Washington, DC, and San Diego. She lives with her husband and two fabulous felines on the beach, where she enjoys contemplating mysteries.

Micheal Higgenbottam: Member at Large

Jim Ripps: Member at Large

K. Aarons photoKathy Krevat: Member at Large

Kathy Krevat (writing as Kathy Aarons) is the author of the national bestselling CHOCOLATE COVERED MYSTERY series by Berkley Prime Crime. Death is Like a Box of Chocolates was selected as a Top Book of 2014 by the San Diego Union Tribune. Truffled to Death was published in June 2015 and Behind Chocolate Bars will be out October 2016. Kathy has been a tireless advocate for arts education for youth, serving on the board for Playwrights Project, advising the Middle School Writing Workshop series in Carmel Valley, and volunteering for the CCA Writers’ Conference, the only free writing conference for high school students in the US.  Visit her at

Lisa BrackmannLisa Brackmann: Member at Large

Lisa Brackmann is the critically acclaimed New York Times best-selling author of the Ellie McEnroe novels set in China. The latest, Dragon Day, was a Seattle Times Top 10 Mystery of 2015 and was short-listed for a Lefty award. Her next novel is Go-Between, to be published July 2016. Her work has also appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Travel+Leisure and CNET. She lives in San Diego with a couple of cats, far too many books and a bass ukulele. You can find her online at


Original Launch Board (2016-2018):

Kathy Krevat, President
Lisa Brackmann, VP
Kim Keeline, Secretary
Valerie Hanson, Treasurer
Nicole Larson, Programming
Corey Lynn Fayman, Membership

%d bloggers like this: